My first article was not culled from my dissertation came out last month in the NCTE journal Teaching English in the Two-Year College.

On June 25, 2014 I emailed the editor, Jeff Sommers, my idea. He offered a noncommittal reply, which I expected.

On October 13, 2014, I submitted my article. At that point the article was titled “Student-Athletes and the Trouble with Threshold Concepts.” (I still like that title better…)

On December 8, 2014, I received a rejection email from Jeff while I was at the oral surgeon’s office waiting for a root canal. Jeff did mention he would be glad to look at a revision and attached reader feedback.

On May 13, 2015, I resubmitted my article.

On June 22, 2015, my article was accepted “provisionally.”

On July 14, 2015, I resubmitted my article after revising again according to reader feedback. At this point the title changed to “Student-Athletes, Prior Knowledge, and Threshold Concepts.”

On July 7, 2016, the new editor, Holly Hassel, send my page proofs.

On September 30, 2016 my article was published.

Two rounds of revisions and two years and 3 months later from the initial email with Jeff.

[tick, tock goes the sound of the tenure clock]

Here’s the abstract:

Pulling data from a year-long case study into a Division II men’s basketball team, this article suggests how threshold concepts as currently conceptualized and implemented in first-year composition pedagogy and curriculum could more directly consider unique forms of literacies student-athletes bring into the classroom.

 

One thought on “The publication process

Leave a Reply

